Lutterloh

Today I did not knit at all. Not one single stitch.

Instead, I did math and a bunch of embroidery. I also listened to a book on tape and cut out pieces for my non-frumpy denim jumper. This is going to be a really legit jumper, let me tell you. It’s going to have piping.

In case you weren’t sure, yeah. Piping is that stuff on the edge of couch cushions. But it’s going to be nice in a non-frumpy denim jumper as well! Just wait; you’ll see.

For my pattern, I’m using the Lutterloh system, which I’ve known about for a long time, but never used until now. The Lutterloh system was devised in Germany in the 1930s and has been around and family-owned ever since. It’s actually pretty neat, and I’m surprised it’s not used more. Usually, in the art of home-sewing, you purchases a paper pattern according to your size. The pattern contains large sheets of paper patterns that have been drafted according to the size on the front. If it turns out that the size you thought you were and the size the pattern thinks you are do not concur, too bad for you. Good luck trying to make it work.

The Lutterloh system is completely different. It relies on what it calls “The Golden Rule,” which states that the human body is in perfect mathematical proportion within itself. For instance,

  • Body height is 8 times the length of the head
  • The length of outstretched arms is the same as body height
  • 1/6th of body height is the length of the foot

Keeping this in mind, you take only two measurements: the bust and the waist. Instead of having a to-scale pattern piece that you simply cut out, you draw your own, personalized pattern from the baby pattern in the book:

Small pattern.

Using the measurements of the bust and waist, you measure out the dots on the pattern, connect them, and there you have your own, personal pattern piece.

Like so!

Cool stuff, huh?

Yeah, yeah, I know, you don’t care. But I’ll still let you know how it turns out. If it turns out at all. The only complaints I have so far are that I’m not sure what the heck I’m supposed to do with the darts. Do I give them seam allowance, too? But wouldn’t that make the dart smaller?

I don’t know; I’m bad at math. Which is unfortunate, since both sewing and knitting involve more math than you’d think.

Goodnight.

2 thoughts on “Lutterloh

  1. You’ll have to let me know how this turns out! I’ve been fascinated by this system myself, but haven’t ever used it. It does seem to make sense, but when I blogged about it awhile back, no one that responded had used it and they gave me other ideas for creating fitted garments. I’m still so curious if this works.
    Beth

    • It’s looking good so far. I pinned the pieces together and tried them on yesterday and they seem to fit. I’ll post a picture if it turns out well 🙂 The one thing I could complain of is that it doesn’t come with instructions. I actually have to think for myself!

Leave a Reply

