Lent

For Lent, I gave up Facebook.

Giving up stuff aside, I really enjoy Lent, which is ironic since we’re supposed to be contemplating the sacrifice and suffering that Jesus went through for our sakes. It’s a time when we put away the Halleluiah songs and bust out “O Sacred Head Now Wounded.” But it’s also a time of spiritual renewal; a time when we put aside our busy lives for a while and strive to enter a deeper relationship with God.

For Lutherans, at least in my neck of the woods, this is how Lent goes down:

  • Lent lasts for 40 days, not including Sundays. The number 40 is a very important number in the Bible; the Israelites wandered around in the desert for 40 years, Jesus spent 40 days fasting in the wilderness, etc. It’s not exactly a fun-time number, but a waiting number and a hoping number. During the 40 days of Lent, we are called to contemplate our lives and our relationship with God as we wait and hope.
  • No more Halleluiahing: I was actually serious about that. During Lent, we don’t sing any songs with the word “H/Alleluia” in them. We’re getting ready for Easter and Jesus’ triumph over the grave, but right now, we’re not doing that. We’re waiting.
  • At Wednesdays at 7, we go to church. Is it just my church, or is Wednesday at 7 a very Lutheran time to do things? I just visited the websites of a bunch of random Lutheran churches, and sure enough; Wednesdays at 7 are all pretty much booked. We have council meetings Wed. at 7, the knitting group Wed. at 7, Lenten services Wed. at 7, Thrivent Financial for Lutherans Board Meetings Wed. at 7 – the only reason that choir practice is on Thursdays at 7 is because Wednesdays at 7 are all booked up, otherwise, Wednesdays at 7 they’d be.
  • Before Lenten services on Wednesdays at 7, we have Soup Suppers. Soup Supper is one of the very best things about Lent. Old ladies, such as myself, come to church and volunteer to make homemade soup and bread for anyone who wants to come at 6:30 before service. It’s a nice time to unwind from the stresses of school and to chat with your friends. Besides that, Marge Johnson’s homemade bread is amazing. So is her clam chowder.
  • A lot of people give something up, or take on a new challenge. The archetypical examples would be giving up chocolate, or reading the Bible every night. I chose Facebook because it distracts me from my homework when I’m on the computer, which is a lot of the time. My life is busy enough without getting even more distracted. I’ve decided that I’m going to send more letters instead. They’re more fun and more personal. I just wrote my first one:

Yo So-and-so,

Wassup? Since you are so sad about my being off Facebook for the 40 days of Lent, I thought I’d send you a letter. Letters are better anyway, right? I can show off my gorgeously illegible handwriting and draw you pictures of bunny rabbits. A bag next to me just started rustling. I freaked out because it might have been a rabid mouse, or something like that. Fortunately, we don’t have mice in our house. Rabies, by the way, is caused by the Rabies Virus. Who would have guessed, right? It usually results in fatal encephalitis. In America, a common cause is a virus variant found in silver-haired bats. So, my friend, stay away from silver-haired bats . . . .

Today I tried to figure out which generation I am in. It is either Generation Y or Generation Z. You are definitely in Generation Z (mid 1990s-present), but I’m kind of in the middle because the Generations overlap. Wikipedia says that one of the key differences is that Generation Y can remember before the takeoff of mass personal electronics. Hmm, I remember film cameras. And dial-up. Does that count? I bet you don’t even know what dial-up is. I used to have to ask my dad to get off the internet so that I could call up my little friends. I just went to Youtube to listen to the sound of dial-up. Now I’m listening to a 3 1/2 minute clip of dial-up sound. It’s such a weird sound.

I am super distracted from my homework. Just look at me; listening to dial-up sound. Giving up Facebook didn’t help much after all did it? . . . .

Well So-and-so, there you have it; half an hour in Sofia’s brain. You’d better write back. See you around . . .

Love,

Sofia

PS: Wasn’t that better than Facebook?

By the way, if you’re still listening to the sound of dial-up, you’re a dork. But that’s okay, because I like dorks. Besides, I’m still listening to it too.

One thought on “Lent

Leave a Reply

