I miss being a little kid. A lot.

Sure enough; top searches: calcium deposit leg, calcium deposits under eyes. Sorry, people.

I was going to write “Sorry, guys” but that would have rhymed with “eyes,” and we all know how much I hate that.

You probably don’t know how much I hate that. I’m just assuming that you know all the ins and outs of my fascinating little mind.

I’m currently trying to figure out what to do with my life. I found a nursing program that I wouldn’t mind getting into. A friend from class is going to try as well. The conversation went something like this:

Frankie: It’s first-come, first-serve; you know that, right?

Sofia: What? Are you serious?

Frankie: Yeah, and you aren’t allowed to come and deliver your application in person. It has to be mailed in, post-marked on that day or later. So, here’s the plan: we’re going to find the nearest post office to school, find out when it opens, and get our apps in there first thing in the morning. We should probably send them certified, as well. There is a specific envelope and paper size that we’ve got to use as well, so we need to attend an orientation on the 21st so that we know what we need. You’re coming right?

I miss being a little kid. Especially around Halloween. I went and helped out at a kiddie karnival at church last weekend. They’re all running around without a care in the world, except how to trade their Almond Joys for Reese’s Cups. Their parents take care of their lives. Their grades don’t really matter. If they don’t get their chores done, they won’t get fired. They don’t need any work experience or volunteer hours. Come February (Do you say FebUary, or are you a freak like me, and say FebRUary?), they aren’t going to be getting up early and sprinting to the nearest post office in order to send certified mail to colleges; they don’t know what certified mail is; they’re going to be asking their parents for candy to give out on St. Valentine’s Day.

That’s another thing! St. Valentine’s Day! The last time I got candy was high school freshman year; I got an unsigned, mysterious Snicker’s bar. I’m pretty sure one of my teachers felt sorry for me and bought it. Sometimes my great-aunt sends me money. I like that. But still; I want a big paper sack with construction paper hearts and little boxes of Sweethearts. Yeah, I said Sweethearts. The chalky ones that nobody else wanted. I actually really liked those before NECCO went and changed the recipe.

Enjoy it while it lasts, children.

Leave a Reply

