Fail (maybe)

I just made cupcakes. I’m very proud of my cupcakes. I should be proud of my cupcakes, because I make good ones. It’s no wonder, because I am just such a fabulous person.

With that attitude, I guess I should have been expecting what happened today.

So, at my church we’re having an ice cream social. One of our church ladies asked me if I’d mind bringing some cupcakes. Of course I’d be delighted to! How kind of her to ask! It’ll be no trouble at all.

That’s what you though, Sucker.

Tonight at 11, I suddenly remembered. The cupcakes. Oh yeah. I should probably make those. There won’t be time tomorrow if I want to go to quilting club (Peace Piecers) in the morning.

Where are those cupcake liners? Here they are, on top of the microwave so that they don’t get squashed. Let’s see, how many have I got? Hmm, not enough. The store is closed, because it is 11. I guess I’ll just have to cut out wax paper and use that for some of them.

Cream butter and sugar together, add three eggs, one at a time. Add lemon zest.

Where are the lemons? We always have lemons. Oh my goodness. Are we seriously out of lemons? How can this be?

Add lemon zest extract.

Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add to butter mixture alternately with yogurt.

Yogurt. Wait–where’s the yogurt? We always have yogurt!

Yeah. Just like you always have lemons. You’ll just have to use buttermilk, Sofia. I hope this works out for you. People are going to eat these, you know. People at church. Your reputation is at stake here, Sofia. These had better turn out okay. Just saying.

This . . . doesn’t look right. This is looking a lot more like bread dough than I’m comfortable with. Sofia . . . did you add an extra cup of flour? Was that three and a half, or four and a half? Quick. Add more liquid! Add another egg! AHH!!!

Yeah. That’s about how it went. Pride before fall, and all that good stuff. They actually look decent from the outside. I don’t know. Maybe they’ll be okay. Maybe I’ll be able to pretend I knew what I was doing back there. Then again, they could very well be awful; and that’s okay. I need a lesson in humility every once in a while. I’ve got a long while to go before I’m Donna Reed.

Update: They turned out absolutely fine. Yeah. I knew what I was doing the whole time.

Leave a Reply

