Randomness Soup

Today was my last day of classes. Joy!

Next week is Finals Week. Boo!

Summer is just a week away, but it seems so long. So, so very long. I want summer so very badly. I want to goof off. I want to sew. I want to go to the sock-knitting convention in Portland. I want to mess around with little kids at VBS.

I got home frazzled and hungry for lunch today. On weekdays at my house, lunch is a fend-for-yourself deal; it usually involves leftovers or sketchy packaged food. I’m not one for sketchy packaged food. My best bet in that department was the last package of pickled mustard-flavored Korean instant noodles. There weren’t too many palatable leftovers, either. There was half a helping of dried out mashed potatoes, a couple of baby carrots I should have eaten at school, some mushrooms, and some chicken broth. I wanted comfort food, so I made soup. It turned out really well, so I’ll share it with you:

 

Mushroom Soup with Parmesan

Cooking time: 15 minutes

Servings: 1

Ingredients:

3 mushrooms, sliced thin and/or chopped (Crimini, baby Portobello, whatever)

2 T butter

1 c chicken broth (or vegetable, if you’re into that sort of thing), preferably homemade

2T onion, minced or crushed

2 baby carrots or 1/2 of a big one, grated

1/2 a stick of celery, chopped, if you like that sort of thing

1/2c heavy cream, cream, half-n-half, milk, you get the picture

1/4c mashed potato, OR

1T starch (corn, potato, or flour)

Parmesan cheese, grated

salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Melt butter over medium in a small saucepan. Add mushrooms. I just sliced mine, but you can chop ’em up if you want to. Cook, stirring occasionally, until mushroom juices are released and they stop hissing at you when you mess with them.

2. Add chicken broth, onion, grated carrot, and celery(opt). Add mashed potato OR sift 1T of starch or flour into soup, stirring to prevent lumps from happening. Increase heat to medium-high. Stir occasionally until soup begins to bubble.

3. Allow to boil gently 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.

4. Add dairy product of choice. Cream is preferable; if using something with a lower fat content, you may need to add another T of starch or flour, to thicken so that you can pretend it has cream in it.

5. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. If necessary, season with salt and pepper. Allow to heat through.

6. Transfer to decorative soup bowl and consume.

 

Leave a Reply

