Good Friday, Chemistry, and Biblical Fashions

Happy Good Friday.

Or maybe just, “Good Friday”? I don’t know.

I’m doing chemistry homework at 12:00 on a Friday night. It’s due next Tuesday. Aren’t I just special?

Unfortunately, it’s online homework, which means I get distracted easily by the lure of the internet ( I just looked up the history of Altoids in the middle of my homework. I don’t even like Altoids).

That’s why I’m writing this, instead of pondering important things, like, ” How much would you expect a pile of 1023 lithium atoms to weigh, assuming a pile of 1023 carbon atoms weighs 12 g?”

Moving on.

In my feeble attempt to actually read through the Bible, I just got to the boring part of Exodus.

I wonder, should I be telling you this? At my sweet little Christian elementary school, we were told not to boast about our goodness, because we ought to be good for God, not for bragging rights. Mr. 4th Grade Teacher once asked how many of us had read through the entire Bible. “But don’t raise your hands,” he quickly added, “It’s a rhetorical question.”

That’s when I learned what rhetorical means.

But I don’t think I’m boasting about my Bible-reading skills. I always (okay, okay; the one time I tried to read through the entire Bible in 5th grade) read through Genesis and halfway through Exodus. That first chunk of Bible is really interesting and jam-packed with excitement.

Did you know that Moses’ father married his aunt? Gross. So, is Moses’ father also his cousin? Is Moses’ grandfather also his great-grandfather? This is so weird.

But anyways, all the fun stuff like that happens, and then you hit the Ark of the Covenant.

Sigh. So boring. Oh, so boring.

The one part I liked in all that chitchat so far is Exodus 28:31-34:

And thou shalt make the robe of the ephod all of blue. And there shall be an hole in the top of it, in the midst thereof: it shall have a binding of woven work round about the hole of it, as it were the hole of an habergeon, that it be not rent. And beneath upon the hem of it thou shalt make pomegranates of blue, and of purple, and of scarlet, round about the hem thereof; and bells of gold between them round about: A golden bell and a pomegranate, a golden bell and a pomegranate, upon the hem of the robe round about.

Yes, I know this is supposed to be a priestly garment for Aaron, but I am so going to make a blue dress hemmed with blue, purple, and scarlet pomegranates, punctuated by golden bells. It will be fabulous.

These are probably not the thoughts that I’m supposed to be having whilst reading the Bible, are they? Oh well.

It’s time to get back to sub-atomic particles now.

One thought on “Good Friday, Chemistry, and Biblical Fashions

  1. Your writing style is exactly how you speak (great and humourous), Sofia!
    I can’t wait to read the rest. I just HAD to stop at this Bible entry one, because the same thing happens to me every year.

Leave a Reply

