Christmas

It’s 1:07 in the morning. Merry Christmas!

I wonder why people say “Merry” in regards to Christmas. It would be really weird if people said “Merry Easter!” or “Merry Independence Day!” or “Merry Talk Like a Pirate Day!”

Just wondering.

My home-made presents are all under the tree. It’s dark and quiet. My voice is gone from bellowing Christmas carols at the candlelight Christmas Eve service. Nobody’s hair caught on fire this year. I didn’t light my bulletin ablaze. It was a nice service.

There are a lot of things for Christmas that I found myself wanting today; I want a roll of stamps, I want my deceased kitty to be here, I wish we weren’t staying home for Christmas dinner, I want it to stop raining, I want the garbage people to pick up our recycling because I can’t fit any more in the bin and we’re putting it all in the spare bedroom until they come rescue us.

It ain’t a perfect, story-book Christmas this year; but I’m not too fussed right now. I’m feeling happy and content.

I am so glad each Christmas Eve,
The night of Jesus’ birth!
Then like the sun the Star shone forth,
And angels sang on earth.

The little Child in Bethlehem,
He was a King indeed!
For He came down from Heaven above
To help a world in need.

He dwells again in heaven’s realm,
The Son of God today;
And still He loves His little ones
And hears them when they pray.

I am so glad on Christmas Eve!
His praises then I sing;
He opens then for every child
The palace of the King.

That’s the main point, after all. Right now, I AM feeling pretty glad that Jesus came for us. I’d be a pretty sad sight without Him.

Happy Birthday, Jesus! I am oh, so glad you decided to come.

(and yes, I realize that Jesus was probably not born on December 25th, but that doesn’t matter)

Happy Merry Christmas!

One thought on “Christmas

  1. hahaha, I have heard it said that “You know, Jesus was actually born in the spring” is the Christian equivalent of “You know, everywhere else it’s called football”

Leave a Reply

