Discoveries

Did you know that straws used to be made out of wax-coated paper? Isn’t that cool?!

If you’re over forty, you might have already known that. But I’m not. No one told me. Never once in any history lesson or old book did my forefathers bother to tell me that straws used to be made out of wax-covered paper.

Until Margot let it slip.

As she sipped her Earl Gray (or is it Grey?) tea through a red-and-white striped accordion-pleated straw, she gave it a pinch and murmured, “It is plastic, isn’t it? Not waxed paper?”

WHAT?!?!

And thus, I discovered that straws were once made out of waxed paper.

Besides being a really nice old lady, and all, this is the reason I love to go visit Margot. She’s like a living history book. My old-fashioned soul revels in this stuff.

You probably don’t care that straws used to be made out of waxed paper. I don’t blame you.

Love,

The Old-fashioned Girl

Leave a Reply

